Skip to product information
1 of 2


Regular price € 31,99
Sale price € 31,99 Regular price
Sale Sold out
incl. Tax
Release date: April 20, 2024

⛟ Free shipping over €30

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes insert with liner notes and track-by-track information by Gilles Peterson
  • RSD 2024 sticker
  • Collection of jazz favourites from the Dutch jazz label Timeless Records, compiled by world reknown jazz collector, labelboss, radio-jock and DJ Gilles Peterson
  • Featuring tracks by Pharoah Sanders, Carter Jefferson, Tom Grant, Eddie Harris, Brian Melvin ft. Jaco Pastorius a.o.
  • With previously unreleased version of "Gibraltar" (Alternate Take) by Kirk Lightsey Trio ft. Freddie Hubbard and bonus track "World Peace" by Timeless All Stars
  • Limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on silver coloured vinyl


Side A
1. Pharoah Sanders - Moonchild
2. Kirk Lightsey Trio ft. Freddie Hubbard - Gibraltar (Alternate Take)
1. Carter Jefferson - Why
2. Tom Grant - No Me Esqueca
3. Eddie Harris - La Carnival
1. Rodney Jones - Articulation
2. Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - In Case You Missed It
3. Eastern Rebellion - Bolivia
1. Joanne Brackeen - Haïti B
2. Brian Melvin feat. Jaco Pastorius - Zen Turtles
3. Timeless All Stars - World Peace


  • Releasedate: 20-04-2024
  • Original Release Year: 2024
  • Units: 2 LP
  • Sleeve: 6mm
  • Grams: 180g
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Barcode (EAN): 8719262033672
  • Catalogue number: MOVLP3674


Influential DJ, producer, radio-presentator and founder of the Acid Jazz and Talkin' Loud labels Gilles Peterson has handpicked 11 of his jazz favourites from the immense catalog of the Dutch jazz Timeless label. Included are Pharaoh Sanders' cosmic jazz "Moonchild”, vocal-jazz from Carter Jefferson's "Why", danceable-jazz from Tom Grant "No Me Esqueca", Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers' "In Case You Missed It", making a total of 11 tracks.
In 2015, Peterson put together a Japan-only CD compilation of 10 of his favourite tracks, but for the vinyl version, the track list has been augmentend with the previously unreleased version of "Gibraltar (Alternate Take)" by Kirk Lightsey Trio feat. Freddie Hubbard, and "World Peace" by Timeless All Stars.
Exclusively for Record Store Day 2024, Timeless Jazz Classics Volume 1 is available on vinyl for the very first time. The 2LP is available as a limited edition of 750 numbered copies on silver coloured vinyl and includes an insert with liner notes and track-by-track information by Gilles Peterson.


Shipping costs will be calculated at checkout depending on your shipping country

• We ship to over 40 countries from our warehouse in the Netherlands.

• Our sturdy packaging is designed to ensure your vinyl always arrives in perfect condition.

• If your order includes pre-order items, the entire order will be shipped on the latest pre-order release date. If you prefer not to wait, please place your orders separately.

• We ship most in-stock items within 2-7 working days.

Frequently Asked Questions

You can also check out our complete FAQ section here.

We are a European label and for the majority of our releases, we only have the European rights, meaning that they’re produced for the European market only. Because of this, these releases are not available for purchase at our MOV shop.

Are you located outside of Europe? This is most likely the reason why the product is not available to you. We are sorry for any disappointment that may have caused!

If the record is essential for your collection (which we would understand), we'd advise to search for European shops or marketplaces.

A pre-order product is a product which still needs to be produced. So, after your purchase, you won’t receive this product immediately. We strive to send these on the Release Date which you can find on the product page under the collapsible tab called “Details”.

Keep in consideration that manufacturing processes can always turn out to be delayed so this Release Date, acts as a guideline.

When the ordered item is in stock, we always aim to dispatch your order as soon as possible.

The pre-order articles have an (expected) release date listed on the product page. We usually ship out these pre-order articles several days before the release date, to ensure that you will receive the record on - or as close as possible to - the release date.

If you place an order with both pre-order items and items the MOV Shop has in stock, your entire order will be shipped on the latest pre-order date of any of the pre-ordered items. If you do not wish to wait, please place separate orders.

By buying a product from our shop, you’re buying a great product which has been made
with care. But vinyl is a delicate product, and each pressing is unique!

This means that some products can differ from how they look on our website compared with the physical product. On our website, we create mock-ups with give the best possible representation of our product. However, due to the unique pressing process of some off these products, we can never guarantee that this looks exactly the same. This can mean that colours might differ slightly from the represented colour on our website. Please make sure to keep this in mind when shopping on our website.

To sum up, it can indeed differ slightly from the picture on our website, but it also means you have a true one of a kind, very rare copy!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review