The Return of Progress

Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Staind, Vangelis, Brainbox and Hiatus Kaiyote

“I sold my soul to the devil in L.A. He said 'sign your name here on the dotted line and your songs they all will play.' ” - Aaron Lewis (Staind)

We've got a fantastic bunch of new titles this week. Lee 'Scratch' Perry's big Jamaican instrumentals can be heard on Return of Django, while blues-rock lovers must listen to tracks like “Dark Rose” and “Summertime” on Brainbox's self-titled debut album. Are you more into a good amount of rock, don't hesitate to buy Staind's The Illusion of Progress. Electronic music forms the base of Vangelis' third work Spiral, and for the ultimate sonic soundscapes, you definitely give Hiatus Kaiyote's Choose Your Weapon a try.


Spiral is the third album by the Greek composer Vangelis, released in 1977. Less celebrated than the two albums which preceded it, but the quality of this record is at least on the same level as the previous recordings. The keyboards are prominent on front of the music, while Vangelis is exploring new electronic grounds.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes the Midem International Instrumental award-winning song "To the Unknown Man"
  • Limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on gold & black marbled vinyl

Brainbox is a Dutch rock group that was initially active from 1968 until 1972, and then reformed in 2009. Brainbox is best described as a progressive blues rock band infused with jazz elements. Their eponymous debut album, released in 1969, is also the only Brainbox record that features founding guitarist Jan Akkerman, who left the band in late 1969 to join Focus.

  • 180-gram audiophile vinyl
  • Dutch group featuring members Jan Akkerman, Pierre van der Linden and Kaz Lux
  • Limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on purple vinyl

Staind's album The Illusion of Progress debuted at No. 3 in the Billboard 200. The lead single was "Believe", topping the Alternative songs chart and accumulated three weeks at number one.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • 8-page booklet
  • Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on silver coloured vinyl

Wrapped in soul, blending poetry and polyrhythms, the music of Hiatus Kaiyote is in a lane all by itself. 

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Free download code included
  • Featuring the Grammy-nominated song "Breathing Underwater"
  • Celebrating 5 years of “Choose Your Weapon”

Lee 'Scratch' Perry  & The Upsetters' classic Return of Django. Lee Perry had already been making name in the Jamaican music scene for about a decade before Return of Django hit the UK charts in 1969. Soon after, Trojan released a hugely popular collection of Perry's biggest instrumentals.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Black vinyl