Trivium, Roy Harper, Art of Noise, Titus Groan, Jaco Pastorius, Claw Boys Claw and the soundtrack of Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle

Trivium, Roy Harper, Art of Noise, Titus Groan, Jaco Pastorius, Claw Boys Claw and the soundtrack of Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle

An invitation for the silent beggars

We have some great releases in store for you this week. An alternate collection of music, from the folk baroque of the 60's to zero's metal and from 70's prog-rock to 80's jazz.

We start off with the trash metal of the fourth studio album Shogun, by the American band Trivium. It's a heavy and powerful ride through all the elements which makes the music of Trivium so great. The first single of the album, "Down from the Sky", is a combination of their aggressive guitar riffs and effective lyrics. On the other side, album opener "Kirisute Gomen" develops from an acoustic melody to some intense tribal percussion. Shogun has a few songs that deal with ancient Japanese military customs and several regarding Greek mythology, some serving as metaphors to be interpreted by the listener. The double vinyl is housed in a gatefold sleeve and includes an 8 page booklet and an exclusive art print. The first 1500 individually numbered copies are pressed on red & black mixed vinyl.

The second album is by the longstanding English folk hero Roy Harper, who's been active in the music industry since 1964. With his music he's been a big inspiration for bands like Pink Floyd, Deep Purple and Jethro Tull. Return Of The Sophisticated Beggar is a re-release of the 1966 album The Sophisticated Beggar, deep down in the middle of the folk-rock scene. The acoustic sounds and weird lyricism creates some of the finest folk songs, with similarities to the music of Bert Jansch and Donovan. Details of his greatness can already be found in the clever guitar arrangements, for example in the track "Blackpool".

Avant-garde combined with the synth-pop of the 80's, it's the music which made Art of Noise a successful band. Their second album, In Visible Silence, earned them two major hits in the UK, namely "Peter Gunn" and "Paranoimia". The first one is a reworking of the music composition by Henry Mancini and the second song a hit in the version featuring Max Headroom on vocals. They're mixing poppy sounds with everyday tunes from telephones and cash registers in the songs of the album. The expanding edition is beautiful packed and we went full out for this one: extra tracks, gatefold, coloured (blue), numbered (1.500 copies), 4 page insert and printed innersleeves.

Titus Groan released only one album, but the self-titled debut is an eclectic journey through the fields of rock and jazz. The album contains high quality work with lengthy songs and medieval-inspired woodwinds. The strongest effort is the outstanding "Hall of Bright Carvings", with melodies of flutes, horns and guitars. It's a track full of musical changes and as fast as new instruments are introduced, so fast they are disappearing into the unknown. From the rock ballad "It's All Up With Us" to the doomy atmosphere of "Fuchsia", it's an ever changing story.  

The jazz bassist who effectively employed funk, harmonics and chords in his music, is known by the name Jaco Pastorius. Tragically he died at the age of 35, but his music is everlasting. Take a listen to the live album Invitation and you will hear an artist at the top of his career. The album mostly consists of songs written by other artists, but with his signature all over it. As a bass player of Weather Report by that time he could lean on an all-star cast, including, Randy Brecker, Toots Thielemans and Othello Molineaux. All these artists are putting their talent in the different live tunes, but it's Jaco who effectively communicates with the audience through his bass guitar work.

We've also got a brand new album by the Amsterdam rockers Claw Boys Claw. After five years they return with their 12th album, called: It's Not Me, The Horse Is Not Me, Part 1. Frontman Peter te Bos is known for his energetic live performances and sharp vocals. Their new album melts Sixties Pop, Seventies Rock and all sorts of wonderful curiosities together. The ambassadors of the Dutch Record Store Day 2018 still know how to rock with their dirty riffs and swampy blues. The first 1.000 copies are individually numbered and pressed on red coloured vinyl. Strictly limited!

We conclude this newsletter with the release of the soundtrack which Henry Jackman composed for the movie Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle. The movie is part of the Jumanji franchise and the story got its music feedback with the classical and electronic tracks by the revolutionary film composer. He combines a unique range of skills, which he showed to the public in his compositions for movies like Captain Phillips, X-Men: First Class, Captain America and Kick-Ass. The vinyl package contains an exclusive film-poster, and the 180 gram records are housed in 2 exclusive printed innersleeves. The first pressing of Jumanji Welcome To The Jungle is pressed as a limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on flaming vinyl.

The live album Invitation was the third album by Jaco Pastorius, originally released in 1983 while the bassist was a member of Weather Report.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes Insert



After five years Amsterdam rockers Claw Boys Claw return with their cryptically titled new album It's Not Me, The Horse Is Not Me – Part 1.  

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • 4 page booklet
  • New 2018 album

In a brand new Jumanji adventure, four high school kids discover an old video game console and are drawn into the game's jungle setting. The film stars Dwayne Johnson, Jack Black, Kevin Hart, Karen Gillan, Nick Jonas, and Bobby Cannavale and received critical acclaim upon its release. The film music is composed by Henry Jackman.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Includes 2 printed innersleeves
  • Includes movie-poster (60x60)
  • Blockbuster movie feat. The Rock, Kevin Hart, Jack Black and Karen Gillen
  • Score by multiple award winning Henry Jackman (Kingsman, Captain America, Kick-Ass)
  • Limited edition of 250 numbered copies on “Wild Rhino” (silver & black marbled) coloured vinyl
Art Of Noise's In Visible Silence was the first and only album to spawn two UK top 20 hit singles for the band. 
Now this reissue is remastered and features 17 extra tracks on top of the original In Visible Silence LP.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Printed innersleeves
  • Remastered audio
  • Includes 4 page Booklet
  • Expanded edition feat. 17 bonus tracks



Roy Harper's first solo album was originally released in 1966, The Sophisticated Beggar, and by 1970 he had met up with Pink Floyd manager Peter Jenner and re-released his debut as Return Of The Sophisticated Beggar.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Re-issue of his debut folk rock album