Stop what you're doing right now! There are some groundbreaking classics out this week...

The Cowboy Junkies
for example, are the living proof that it's possible to create a fantastic album overnight; The Trinity Session was recorded using one microphone, a DAT recorder and the wonderful acoustics of the Holy Trinity church. The album is completely re-mastered by the original recording engineer and the band and is now available in a limited edition of transparent red vinyl.

For this week we have another exclusive; Wally Tax with his solo album Love In. This rock 'n roll legend was once famous for his career with The Outsiders, but shows his gentle side on his debut album with orchestrated pop and melodramatic sounds. The first pressing of this album is on yellow coloured vinyl.

If you're looking for an album that's one of the 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die (edited by Robert Dimery) it should definitely be Spy vs. Spy: The Music Of Ornette Coleman by composer and saxophonist/multi-instrumentalist John Zorn.

Murda Muzik album by Mobb Deep is filled with hip hop beats from the East-Coast. It features one of the group's best-known and most acclaimed songs, "Quiet Storm", which is in Prodigy's own words: "Cause it's the real sh*t, sh*t to make em feel sh*t (the real)".

The all-round famous producer of tracks for Funkdoobiest, House Of Pain, Dizzee Rascal, U2, Depeche Mode, Die Antwoord, Cypress Hill and many more, released an album as The Soul Assasins. The apocalyptic grooves by DJ Muggs are collected and can be heard on Muggs Presents: The Soul Assassins (Chapter 1) album.

The unique approach to storytelling through sounds by Richard Bona is well presented on the Reverance album. He remains true to his roots with African rhythms on his second studio album.

Just in time for his 80th birthday on January 31 we have a classical release by Philip Glass. His Songs From The Trilogy album is a compilation of music from his opera's.

And we're closing this week vinyl releases with a hip hop classic. Slam: The Soundtrack consists entirely of hip hop music; produced by DJ Spooky it includes tracks by Ol' Dirty Bastard, Mobb Deep, KRS-One, Big Punisher, Q-Tip and more.

Enough food for thought this week!

All the best,

The MOV crew

Sign up for our weekly newsletter to stay up to date about our latest releases.
The Trinity Session by Cowboy Junkies is completely re-mastered and includes 2 tracks that were previously not included on the album; "Blue Moon Revisited" and "Working On A Building". The records are packed in a newly designed gatefold with additional photos and features new liner notes written by author and music editor Jason Schneider.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Expanded edition with additional photos and 2 bonus tracks
  • Re-mastered by original recording engineer Peter Moore and Cowboy Junkies
  • New liner notes written by author and music editor Jason Schneider

The Muggs Presents The Soul Assassins (Chapter 1)album was originally released in 1997 and is produced by DJ Muggs. It features tracks from a veritable 'who's who' list of rappers like Dr. Dre & B Real, Mobb Deep, RZA/GZA & Genius (Wu-Tang Clan), Krs-One (Boogie Down Productions), Goodie Mob plus contributions from his Cypress Hill fellow band members B-Real and Sen Dog.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • 20th Year Anniversary release
  • Album by producer and DJ of Cypress Hill
  • Includes "Puppet Master" by Dr. Dre & B Real and "Battle Of 2001" by Cypress Hill
While The Outsiders were still at their peak in 1967, Wally Tax released his solo debut album Love In. All the tracks on the album are gentle, orchestrated pop with melodramatic and more folk-rockish than his work with The Outsiders. It showed a much more subdued, poppy side to Tax's singing and songwriting. Tax sings in a rather lower and more crooning style than he used on The Outsiders records, and the songs are contemplative, sentimental, and occasionally even vaudevillian.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Dutch Vinyl Masters series
  • Includes "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" and "Feeling So Fine "
  • First pressing of 500 numbered copies on yellow vinyl
Richard Bona remains true to his roots with African rhythms reflected in each of his albums; Reverence is the second studio album originally released in 2001 and displays his unique approach to storytelling through sounds. His unique style is situated at the crossroads of a horde of influences - jazz, bossa nova, pop music, afro-beat, traditional song, and funk.

The song "Reverence (The Story of a Miracle)" features a guest appearance by prominent jazz guitarist Pat Metheny.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes insert
  • Guest appearance by Pat Metheny
  • First time on vinyl!

Spy vs Spy: The Music of Ornette Coleman is the 1989 album by American composer and saxophonist/multi-instrumentalist John Zorn, featuring the compositions of Ornette Coleman performed in the brief intense style of Zorn's hardcore miniatures.

The album was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Including insert
  • Cover artwork by Mark Beyer (of Amy and Jordan fame)
  • Album is noted in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die
Songs from the Trilogy is a 1989 compilation album of songs from Philip Glass' operas Einstein On The Beach, Satyagraha and Akhnaten. Many of the songs on the album have been altered or shortened from their original composition.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Including insert
  • Compilation of songs from his opera's Einstein on the Beach, Satyagraha and Akhnaten
  • Philip Glass celebrates his 80th birthday on January 31st