Today is a good day for fresh vinyl releases,

The Distance To Here
and Secret Samadhi by the band LIVE were hard to find records, until now! Both of these pearls are now re-issued on vinyl! The first copies of the albums are numbered & coloured, check out the silver and orange colours below.

Next album in this week's schedule is the expanded edition of 808 state's album Gorgeous. The pioneers of the acid house sound mixed some new wave into their sound on this one by sampling well-known tracks. This expanded edition includes seven bonus tracks and is available on purple coloured vinyl!

Petite Afrique is the brand new album by Somi who blends modern jazz, African music in a singer/songwriters tradition. Being an African and American woman she resonates the vibrant African immigrant community through small ensemble arrangements. This inspirational album is now available on 180gram vinyl!

The At The Movies department has two new releases this week. Starting off with a coloured edition of one of the biggest cult classic albums, its the soundtrack to Reservoir Dogs. These 'Super Sounds Of The Seventies' are now available on limited edition bleeding red vinyl.

The album Charade is a must-have soundtrack by one of the world's best composers Henry Mancini. Director Stanley Donen needed a strong melody in the background for its mystery thriller. He asked Mancini who made this album into a real masterpiece. The first pressing is only a small amount of numbered copies on red vinyl!

Enjoy your weekend.

All the best,

Music On Vinyl

Sign upfor our weekly newsletter to stay up to date about our latest releases.

Somi's new album Petite Afrique is a song cycle inspired by the vibrant African immigrant community that has become a vital part of Harlem's cultural dimension - and to New York City as a whole. The historic uptown neighborhood fondly boasts of West 116th Street as "Little Africa", where passers-by can find ornate traditional fabrics, Francophone bibles, palm oil and tribes of fast-fingered hair braiders, or the city's best Senegalese fare.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Featuring special guests Aloe Blacc and Marcus Strickland
Film director Stanley Donen had been charmed by Henry Mancini's song "Baby Elephant Walk" from the film Hatari!, so he contacted Mancini from London to tell him about his current picture. Donen had directed several famous musical films throughout the 1950s and he now intended to put his own slant on a Hitchcock-like thriller and he wanted a strong melody in the background score.

The title track "Charade" is a sad, lonely Parisian waltz. It was nominated that year for the Academy Award for Best Original Song.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Music composed by Henry Mancini
The Distance to Here is filled with plenty of guitar riffs, thunderous tempos and a mystical aura andregains the aggressive intensity of Throwing Copper [MOVLP414] from 1994. The album derived three hit singles including "The Dolphin's Cry", "Run To The Water" and "They Stood Up For Love".
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes 4 page insert with song lyrics and credits
  • Special embossed sleeve
  • Featuring the hit single "The Dolphin's Cry", "Run To The Water" and "They Stood Up For Love"

The 'Super Sounds Of The Seventies' is a selection of seminal and sometimes wacky hits by artists such as Stealers Wheel, Harry Nilsson and Joe Tex. The movie also raised public interest in the Dutch band George Baker Selection, due to the use of his "Little Green Bag" in the film's opening titles.
Keep On Truckin'!

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
Live spikes their third album Secret Samadhi with Eastern-tinged strings, sitars, and powerful guitars. It took its name from Samadhi, a state of Hindu meditation. The album is co-produced by the band and Jay Healy and debuted in 1997 at number one on the charts.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes poster with song lyrics and credits
  • Special "drip-off colour" sleeve
  • 20th Year Anniversary Edition
  • Featuring the hit songs "Lakini's Juice", "Rattlesnake", "Turn My Head" and "Freaks"