It's Vinyl O'Clock

Jan Akkerman, Silvertones, Tinlicker, Sian Evans, Gare Du Nord and Trijntje Oosterhuis a.o.

It's a busy week since we do not only have Black Friday Record Store Day releases planned for you, but also regular releases that are now in stores:

Silver Bullets by Silvertones is available as a limited edition of 1500 copies on orange coloured vinyl.

Tinlicker's remix of 2000 global hit Hide U by Sian Evans (Kosheen) is available on vinyl as a 7”, with Tinlicker's major hit “Because You Move Me” on the B-side.

Gare Du Nord's debut album (in search of) Excellounge is out on vinyl for the first time and is available as a limited edition of 1000 copies on crystal clear & turquoise mixed vinyl.

The third and brand new album of Trijntje Oosterhuis' Burt Bacharach Songbook is out now, titled Everchanging Times. The album is available as a limited edition of 1500 copies on translucent blue coloured vinyl.

In The Garden of Venus by Modern Talking, Now Here Is Nowhere by Secret Machines, Art of Noise' Noise In The City and the Original Soundtrack of Dark Knight Rises are all available on black vinyl.

Finally, we have a special anniversary release. To celebrate the 75th birthday of guitar virtuoso Jan Akkerman, we made this special compilation album showcasing the legacy of this ground-breaking artist. 75 is available as a limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on gold coloured vinyl. The package contains extensive liner notes by Akkerman's archivist Wouter Bessels. About Jan Akkerman:

  • In 1973 Melody Maker declared him the 'Best Guitarist of the World', above Eric Clapton and Jimmy Page;
  • In 2012 Akkerman was named 'Knight of the Order of Orange-Nassau';
  • In the early days, he gained international fame with Focus. Their hit “Hocus Pocus” charted globally and appeared on numerous TV shows (Top Gear, Skins, Supernatural), films (Hot Fuzz, Baby Driver) and ads including Nike;
  • Together with Framus, he helped produce one of the first signature guitar models.

Below, you'll find more detailed info on the aforementioned releases.


In the Garden of Venus is the sixth studio album by German synthpop duo Modern Talking. It was their last album to be released before they split up in 1987 (and reunited in 1998). Although it's one of their lesser-known albums, it was widely embraced by fans.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Sleeve with gold-spot varnish on the Modern Talking logo on the front cover
  • The sixth studio album by the German duo Thomas Anders and Dieter Bohlen
  • Featuring the single “In 100 Years”
  • Black vinyl

The debut album In Search Of Excellounge was originally released in June 2001 and was certified gold not long after release. The album features the lead off hit single “Pablo's Blues”, dominated by the dobro rif of Lancee and the voice of blues legend Robert Johnson.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • 20th Anniversary Edition
  • First time on vinyl, remastered version for vinyl
  • Includes the hit single “Pablo's Blues” featuring Robert Johnson
  • Includes insert
  • Limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on crystal clear & turquoise mixed vinyl

The Dark Knight Rises is a 2012 multiple-awarded superhero film directed by Christopher Nolan, who co-wrote the screenplay with his brother Jonathan Nolan (Westworld). The soundtrack was composed by the legendary Hans Zimmer (Inception, Interstellar, Gladiator). The Dark Knight Rises main themes were composed by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, but Howard did not return to the series to score this film and was not credited as a composer.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Sleeve with silver-spot varnish on the Batman logo on the front cover
  • Includes 4-page insert, exclusive litho of movie poster and fridge magnet
  • Liner notes by Christopher Nolan
  • Grammy nominated score by Hans Zimmer
  • Black vinyl

Noise in the City is a new live album by the British sample pioneers The Art of Noise. Released 35 years after the band first played in Japan, the album contains a complete concert from Tokyo's Nihon Seinenkan recorded in August 1986.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Black vinyl

Everchanging Times is Trijntje Oosterhuis' 3rd album of Burt Bacharach compositions. Besides some well-known and timeless classics, the albums also includes some brand new songs from the maestro himself. The album was recorded with the renowned Metropole Orkest and produced by Vince Mendoza, and features a duet with Gregory Porter.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Trijntje's brand new and third album of Burt Bacharach compositions, including the single “Making Love” featuring Gregory Porter and “Always Something There To Remind Me” a.o.
  • Limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on “Blue Note” Transparent Blue vinyl

Now Here is Nowhere is the debut studio album by American alternative rock band Secret Machines. It was originally released on May 18, 2004.

The band's epic, drawn out melodies are reminiscent of classic rock bands such as Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin, with influences from krautrock and shoegaze. Now Here is Nowhere received widespread critical acclaim, with many music critics rating the album a minimum of 4 out of 5 stars. The album holds a 80/100 rating on Metacritic.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Includes an insert
  • Black vinyl

The story of the Jamaican reggae harmony group The Silvertones started in 1964, when the band was founded after Delroy Denton joined the duo of Gilmore Grand and Keith Coley. They recorded their debut album Silver Bullets in 1973 with the legendary Lee Perry. It features the singles “I'll Take You Home” and “Rejoice Jah Jah Children”.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • The debut album featuring “I'll Take You Home”, “Rejoice Jah Jah Children” a.o.
  • Produced by Lee Perry
  • Limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on orange coloured vinyl

For over 55 years, Jan Akkerman has been one of Holland's most respected guitarists. In addition to his leading role in the globally acclaimed bands Focus and Brainbox, he has also worked with the likes of B.B. King, Charlie Byrd, Cozy Powell, Claus Ogerman and Ice-T. In 1973 leading British music magazine Melody Maker ranked Jan above Eric Clapton, Carlos Santana and Jimmy Page in its 'Best International Guitarist' poll, firmly establishing his status as an influential and popular guitarist. 75 celebrates Jan Akkerman's 75th birthday. It's a special anniversary compilation album showcasing the legacy of a singular and ground-breaking artist who has never done the same thing twice.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Exclusive compilation celebrating The Legend's 75th birthday
  • Extensive liner notes by Akkerman's archivist Wouter Bessels
  • Limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on gold coloured vinyl

Side A features Tinlicker's remix of “Hide U”, Kosheen's global hit from 2000. Drum and bass was at its peak around this time and that worked out well for Kosheen. This British electronic act got off to a good start after its foundation in the late 1990s.

Side B features Tinlicker and Helsloot's “Because You Move Me”. Nearly four and half year after the initial drop date the track is still a big dancefloor favorite. This masterpiece took some time to come into its own; initially dropping back in 2017 on Armada Music, the single remained an underground weapon of deep house maestros worldwide.

  • Double-sided 12” EP
  • Available on vinyl for the first time
  • Original “Hide U” vocals by Kosheen singer Sian Evans
  • “Because You Move Me” is considered an underground deep-house masterpiece and has recently reached the #1 spot in several dance charts around the globe