Flowers Of Love

Cranes, Mountain, Slowdive, Unifony, Ilse DeLange, 1917, and many more

I like it when you listen to other people's music you find yourself in their world for a while. I like that it's a simple process as well. A person and a guitar can create a whole world. They can conjure up something that didn't exist before - Alison Shaw (Cranes)

This week's summer batch contains: Cranes' Population Four, produced by Mark Freegard (a.o. Breeders), Mountain's Flowers Of Evil brings together the live greatness and excellent studio qualities this band clearly had. Unifony II is the 2nd album by Minco Eggersman and Theodoor Borger, and for their new soundscape they worked together with musicians Aaron Parks & Óskar Gudjónsson. Pygmalion is probably the most abstract work of Slowdive, on this album they began to incorporate more elements of ambient electronica into their music. And Ilse DeLange's best-of album, After The Hurricane & More. This week our At The Movies sublabelbrings you, the full metal edition of 1917, the flaming vinyl version of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and the “Green as Grass” vinyl edition of The Gentlemen.


Flowers of Evil is the third album by American hard rock band Mountain, released In 1971. The first part was recorded in the studio and the second during their Fillmore East concert. Both recordings are great and the live recording includes their famous cowbell-tinged song "Mississippi Queen". The two sides are impressive in their own way.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Side A consists of studio recordings, Side B consists of live recordings

At the height of the First World War, two young British soldiers, Schofield (Captain Fantastic's George MacKay) and Blake (Game of Thrones' Dean-Charles Chapman) are given a seemingly impossible mission. In a race against time, they must cross enemy territory and deliver a message that will stop a deadly attack on hundreds of soldiers—Blake's own brother among them. The music to the movie is composed by Thomas Newman (The Shawshank Redemption, American Beauty, Road to Perdition).

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve with leather look laminate
  • 8-page booklet with movie pictures & liner notes by director Sam Mendes
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Academy Award, BAFTA Award and Golden Globe Award-nominated soundtrack
  • 7-time Bafta award-winning, 3-time Academy Award-winning and 2-time Golden Globe award-winning movie
  • Score by Thomas Newman (Skyfall, American Beauty, Six Feet Under)
  • Limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on “Full Metal Jacket” (green & silver swirled) coloured vinyl

Population Four signaled the first major change in the lineup of Cranes with the departure of bassist Cope. Jim Shaw stepped from behind the drums to take over lead guitar duties in full, Francombe switched to bass, while new member Manu Ros settled behind the drum kit.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Jacket with deluxe soft touch finish
  • Insert
  • Available on vinyl for the first time
  • Featuring “Can't Get Free”, “Brazil” and “Let Go”
  • First pressing of 1500 individually numbered copies on blue & white swirled vinyl

From writer/director Guy Ritchie (Snatch, Sherlock Holmes) comes The Gentlemen, a star-studded sophisticated action-comedy. The score to the movie is composed by Academy Award-winning audio engineer, composer, and music editor Christopher Benstead (Gravity, Aladdin).

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Hype-sticker
  • Score to the critically acclaimed 2020 Guy Ritchie movie featuring Matthew McConaughey, Charlie Hunnam, Michelle Dockery, Colin Farrell and Hugh Grant
  • Exclusive XL fold-out movie poster with all main characters from The Gentlemen
  • 4-page booklet with pictures and credits
  • Score composed by Academy Award winning audio engineer, composer and music editor Chris Benstead (Gravity)
  • Exclusive limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on “Green as Grass” coloured vinyl



Country-pop singer Ilse DeLange emerged as one of the most successful Dutch artists of her generation with her chart-topping 1998 debut, World Of Hurt [MOVLP938]. Recording several albums in the US (most notably Nashville) proved fruitful; both her debut as well as Clean Up (2003) and The Great Escape (2006) were highly successful in the Lowlands and beyond.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Includes insert with liner notes by Ilse
  • Featuring the singles “I'm Not So Tough”, “Miracle”, “The Great Escape”, “Puzzle Me”, “World Of Hurt”, “I Still Cry”, “Blue Bittersweet” and many more
  • Limited pressing of 1000 individually numbered copies on crystal clear vinyl

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is the Original Soundtrack album of the 2000 multiple award winning film. The soundtrack was awarded at the Academy Awards, Grammy's and BAFTA Awards. The score was also nominated for a Golden Globe. The score was composed by Tan Dun and performed by Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Shanghai National Orchestra, and Shanghai Percussion Ensemble. It also features many solo passages for cello played by Yo-Yo Ma.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Including 4-page booklet
  • Academy Award and Golden Globe Award-winning film
  • Music by Tan Dun, featuring Yo-Yo Ma
  • Featuring the song “A Love Before Time” with Coco Lee
  • Limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on smoke coloured vinyl

When Slowdive disbanded in 1995 music fans widely associated it with the demise of the shoegaze genre. Their last sign of life was Pygmalion (before they reunited in 2014)  and it was, after Just For A Day and Souvlaki a totally different and more abstract album.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
  • # 12 - Pitchfork's 50 Best Shoegaze Albums of All Time
  • “A stylistic masterpiece” (AllMusic) / “Pygmalion remains Halstead and Goswell's masterpiece" (BBC Music)
  • 1995 album, including "Rutti", "Crazy for You" and "Blue Skied an' Clear"