Following up with some phat hip hop reissues

Lauryn Hill - MTV Unplugged 2.0

Lauryn Hill's background in hip hop makes us mentioning this particular album by former Fugees member, even though the album would not be described as 'hip hop' per sé.
With this album, Hill departed from the hip hop beats of her debut album for austere acoustic soul and folk songs, which she performed solely on the acoustic guitar. She therefore jokingly described herself as a "hip-hop folk singer".
In between songs, Hill spoke at length about her personal and artistic struggles. Lengthy intros, conversations and deeply personal songs like "Conquering Lion" accompanied with her acoustic guitar add to the intimate performance in her typical raspy voice.
MTV Unplugged No 2.0 was her last album and pressed in limited quantities when originally released in 2002. The Music On Vinyl re-issue comes just in time for its 15th year anniversary in 2017!

Fugees - Blunted On Reality
If they were giving out awards, no-one would be able to accurately predict the winner of the category: but the Fugees would be in with being the most widely misunderstood band in the history of popular music.
But Blunted On Reality still went on to sell around three million copies after The Score transformed the group into global superstars, and are all ignored entirely today.
It is a record that deserves a reissue; as does the career of the band that made it.

Cypress Hill - Till Death Do Us Part
Cypress Hill - Los Grandes Exitos En Español
In the footsteps of our previous Cypress Hill releases the story continues.
The Till Death Do Us Part episode is a flirt they with reggae, especially on the hit single 'What's your number?' sampling The Clash's 'The Guns Of Brixton', plus 'Ganja Bus' with vocals by Damian Marley.
Another winner for Cypress Hill is the greatest-hit album Los Grandes Éxitos en Español on which all their tracks, except one, are in Spanish.
In addition Cypress Hill was the first Latino American hip hop group to have platinum and multi-platinum albums, and most of their fan base derived from Hispanic backgrounds.

Nas - Nastradamus
Nastradamus was originally scheduled to be released as follow-up to I Am and contained material from that album. Unfortunately due to bootlegging and widespread leaks on the internet of the material, Nas decided to record all new material under the title Nastradamus.
The album debuted at a number 7 spot on the Billboard charts selling 232,000 copies in the first week, later the album was certified platinum in sales by the RIAA.
Good thing we decided to re-release the vinyl again, almost 17 years later!

Ghostface Killah - Bulletproof Wallets
Every Wu-Tang Clan solo project has a different flavor, and Ghostface Killah's third album is no exception. Although the Wu-Tang sound is still present, this is considered a party album, using early 70's soul samples, and colorful storytelling rap in his fast-paced flow.
Bulletproof Wallets features his singles "Never Be The Same Again" and the club banger "Flowers" with Method Man and Raekwon, his fellow Wu-Tang Clan members.

Raekwon - Immobilarity
Following up on Bulletproof Wallets we have a solo release by the The Chef, a.k.a. Raekwon. He is the 9th member of the Wu-Tang Clan and founder of his own label ICEH20 Records.
Besides his contributions for the Wu-Tang Clan, he signed a solo deal with Loud Records and released his debut single "Heaven & Hell" for the soundtrack to the movie Fresh.
In 1995 Raekwon released his solo debut Only Built 4 Cuban Linx and has since recorded numerous solo albums, as well as continuing to work with Wu-Tang and providing an extensive number of guest contributions to other hip hop artists' works.
Immobilarity is the second studio album and the logical follow up for the Music On Vinyl release.

The D.O.C. - No One Can Do It Better
The D.O.C.
, short for Department of Correction, is a highly skilled battle rhymer from the USA who remains mostly unheard. This could be due to his tragic car accident, in which he damaged his vocal chords and shortened his spotlight time.
Dr. Dre picked up his talents very quickly and used his rhyming talents as one of the co-writers for his classic album The Chronic. Later The D.O.C. worked on Snoop Dogg's debut album Doggystyle and continued to be a ghostwriter for various songs on Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg albums.
Before his car crash The D.O.C. released his Dr. Dre-produced debut album No One Can Do It Better.
At Music On Vinyl we definitely think this an underrated album, even though it went platinum in the US hip/hop charts, and are pleased to release this again.


The D.O.C., short for Department of Correction, is a highly-skilled battle rhymer from Dallas, USA.  In addition to his solo career, he was a member of the hip hop group Fila Fresh Crew and later collaborated with gangsta rap group N.W.A where he co-wrote many of their releases. After Fila Fresh Crew split up in 1988, The D.O.C. went on to pursue a successful solo career.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Limited numbered edition of 1000 copies on silver coloured vinyl
Bulletproof Wallets is the third studio album by Ghostface Killah. Its feature single, "Never Be the Same Again", featured Carl Thomas and Raekwon.
He had another club hit with "Flowers", which featured guest vocals from fellow Wu-Tang members Method Man and Raekwon, and a popular single "Ghost Showers" which featured Madame Majestic, who also sung on the popular Wu-Tang track "Gravel Pit".
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Printed innersleeves
  • Feat. Method Man, Slick Rick, RZA, Ginuwine, Raekwon

Immobilarity is the second studio album and the follow-up to Only Built 4 Cuban Linx by Wu-Tang Clan-member Raekwon (a.k.a. The Chef). The album, which was originally released in 1999, reached to number 2 in the US Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and number 4 in the US Billboard album charts and was certified gold by the RIAA.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Includes "Fuck Them" featuring Method Man, "Sneakers", "Yae Yo" and "Power"

Los Grandes Éxitos en Español is a greatest-hits album in Spanish by Cypress Hill. It was certified Platinum by the RIAA. With exception of the last track, which was previously unreleased, together with "Latin Lingo," and "Tres Equis" which appeared on Cypress Hill [MOVLP041], the album features old songs with new Spanish lyrics.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Classic Cypress Hill songs with Spanish Lyrics
  • Including "Loco en el Coco" (Insane in the Brain), "Latino Lingo" (Latin Lingo) & "Ilusiones" (Illusions)

Released three years after Stoned Raiders, Latino hip hop group Cypress Hill returned in 2004 with their seventh studio album Till Death Do Us Part. Cypress Hill are one of the main progenitors of West Coast hip hop in the early 1990s, releasing several critically acclaimed albums. This recordreached #21 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #23 an the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Featuring “What's Your Number” and “Ganja Bus”
  • Includes 4-page insert