Skip to product information
1 of 2

Dance The Cool Jerk

Regular price € 27,99
Sale price € 27,99 Regular price
Sale (temporarily) unavailable
incl. Tax
Release date: October 13, 2023

⛟ Free shipping over €30

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Contains the mega hit "Cool Jerk"
  • Limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on red coloured vinyl


1. Cool Jerk
2. My Girl
3. I Got My Mojo Working
4. Please Please Please
5. In The Midnight Hour
6. Good Lovin’
1. Love Makes The World Go Round
2. Zig Zaggin’
3. Dog & Cat
4. Hello Stranger
5. Tired Running From You
6. The Kick


  • Releasedate: 13-10-2023
  • Original Release Year: 1966
  • Units: 1 LP
  • Sleeve: 3mm
  • Grams: 180g
  • Genre: Funk
  • Carrier: LP STANDARD
  • Barcode (EAN): 8719262028524
  • Catalogue number: MOVLP3374


The Capitols were an American, Detroit, Michigan-based soul trio, widely known in 1966 for their Billboard hit single "Cool Jerk". After playing predominantly small gigs, they were discovered by former Ann Arbor radio DJ Ollie McLaughlin after performing at a local dance. The mid-1960s saw many dance crazes; one of the most popular ones was a dance called "the jerk". Seeking to capitalize on the popularity of the dance, and dance songs in general, The Capitols member Donald Storball wrote the song "Cool Jerk", which was later recorded in Detroit with Motown house band The Funk Brothers. The single was released late March 1966 and became a hit, reaching number 7 on the Billboard Hot 100. Ever since, it has been used in many movie soundtracks, including More American Graffiti, Home Alone 2: Lost in New York, and Madagascar 3. The group released eight additional singles after "Cool Jerk". So, let's crank up the stereo and Dance The Cool Jerk! Dance The Cool Jerk is available as a limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on red coloured vinyl. 180 gram audiophile vinyl Contains the mega hit "Cool Jerk" Limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on red coloured vinyl


Shipping costs will be calculated at checkout depending on your shipping country

• We ship to over 40 countries from our warehouse in the Netherlands.

• Our sturdy packaging is designed to ensure your vinyl arrives in pristine condition.

• If your order includes pre-order items, the entire order will be shipped on the latest pre-order release date. If you prefer not to wait, please place your orders separately.

• We ship most in-stock items within 2-7 working days.

Frequently Asked Questions

You can also check out our complete FAQ section here.

We are a European label and for the majority of our releases, we only have the European rights, meaning that they’re produced for the European market only. Because of this, these releases are not available for purchase at our MOV shop.

Are you located outside of Europe? This is most likely the reason why the product is not available to you. We are sorry for any disappointment that may have caused!

If the record is essential for your collection (which we would understand), we'd advise to search for European shops or marketplaces.

A pre-order product is a product which still needs to be produced. So, after your purchase, you won’t receive this product immediately. We strive to send these on the Release Date which you can find on the product page under the collapsible tab called “Details”.

Keep in consideration that manufacturing processes can always turn out to be delayed so this Release Date, acts as a guideline.

When the ordered item is in stock, we always aim to dispatch your order as soon as possible.

The pre-order articles have an (expected) release date listed on the product page. We usually ship out these pre-order articles several days before the release date, to ensure that you will receive the record on - or as close as possible to - the release date.

If you place an order with both pre-order items and items the MOV Shop has in stock, your entire order will be shipped on the latest pre-order date of any of the pre-ordered items. If you do not wish to wait, please place separate orders.

By buying a product from our shop, you’re buying a great product which has been made
with care. But vinyl is a delicate product, and each pressing is unique!

This means that some products can differ from how they look on our website compared with the physical product. On our website, we create mock-ups with give the best possible representation of our product. However, due to the unique pressing process of some off these products, we can never guarantee that this looks exactly the same. This can mean that colours might differ slightly from the represented colour on our website. Please make sure to keep this in mind when shopping on our website.

To sum up, it can indeed differ slightly from the picture on our website, but it also means you have a true one of a kind, very rare copy!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review