The album Sun Goddess from American jazz pianist Ramsey Lewis, is a soul jazz-funk album, recorded in 1974 and was producedby Maurice White, Teo Macero and Ramsey Lewis himself.

Read More
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • 3mm sleeve
  • Featuring "Sun Goddess", "Jungle Strut", "Living For The City" and more

Catalog # : MOVLP705 Format : 1 LP, 180 gram Releasedate : February 16 2018
Barcode : 8719262005051 Sleeve : 3mm Original Release : 1974 

Ramsey Lewis is an American jazz pianist, keyboardist and composer born 1935, Chicago. He has recorded over 80 albums and played with artists like Max Roach, jazz-singer Nancy Wilson and performs with his own trio.

The album Sun Goddess is a soul jazz-funk album, recorded in 1974 and was produced by Maurice White, Teo Macero (who had produced albums by Miles Davis) and Ramsey Lewis himself. The opening track "Sun Goddess" was composed, by Earth, Wind & Fire member Maurice White and featured Philip Bailey on vocals. "Living For The City" was composed by Stevie Wonder, arranged by Ramsey Lewis and "Jungle Strut" is a jazz track melting funk and R&B. Sun Goddess was Ramsey Lewis' biggest success of the decade reaching #1 on the Billboard Black Albums chart, #12 in the Pop chart and has been certified gold, it also featured most of the key players of Earth, Wind & Fire.

Side A

1. Sun Goddess
2. Living For The City
3. Love Song

Side B

1. Jungle Strut
2. Hot Dawgit
3. Tambura
4. Gemini Rising