At The Movies

Read More
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Original Soundtrack to the legendary Grammy Award-winning 1961 movie
  • Music by Leonard Bernstein
  • Includes four bonus tracks, “Overture”, “Intermission Music”, “Finale” and “End Credits”
  • Limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on gold coloured vinyl
Catalog # : MOVATM001 Format : 2 LP, 180 gram Releasedate : January 13 2023
Barcode : 8719262025271 Sleeve : Gatefold Original Release : 1962 

West Side Story is the soundtrack to the 1961 film by the same name. All music is composed by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics written by Stephen Sondheim. When released, the soundtrack spent 54 weeks at No. 1 on Billboard's album charts, giving it the longest run at No. 1 of any album in history. Perhaps Michael Jackson's Thriller comes close, on the grounds that West Side Story was listed on a chart for stereo albums only at a time when many albums were recorded in mono.

During the Grammy Awards of 1962, it won Best Sound Track Album - Original Cast and Best Large Ensemble Jazz Album for Johnny Richards' orchestrations of the movie score. These successes bolstered the popularity of the movie and soundtrack even further. In the United States, it was the best-selling album of the 1960s, certifying three times Platinum in over two decades.

West Side Story includes 4 bonus tracks, “Overture”, “Intermission Music”, “Finale (Somewhere)” and “End Credits”. This 2LP-set is available as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on gold coloured vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.


Side A

1. Overture (Bonus track)
2. Prologue
3. Jet Song
4. Something's Coming

Side B

1. Dance At The Gym
2. Maria
3. America

Side C

1. Tonight
2. Gee, Officer Krupke!
3. Intermission Music (Bonus track)
4. I Feel Pretty
5. One Hand, One Heart

Side D

1. Quintet
2. The Rumble
3. Somewhere
4. Cool
5. A Boy Like That/I Have A Love
6. Finale (Bonus track)
7. End Credits (Bonus track)