Miles Davis & Gil Evans team up for three big band releases. In mono!

Read More
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Remastered Audio
  • Mono edition
Catalog # : MOVLP692 Format : 1 LP, 180 gram Releasedate : February 04 2013
Barcode : 8718469532094 Sleeve : 3mm Original Release : 1960 

The conception of Sketches Of Spain can be placed in the 'most melodic' era of Miles Davis's work, being one of his most accessible and less improvisational albums which broke out of the constraints of Jazz as a genre. This is one of the four albums where Miles and Gil Evans collaborated with a small orchestra of horns and percussion.

Sketches of Spain is fueled by Spanish melodies - "El Concierto de Arajuez" by Joaquí­n Rodrigo and "El Amor Brujo" by Manuel de Falla - that fascinated Davis to the point he needed to get into them and go beyond, with Evans constructing a musical painting of a land to which he had never ventured. As Miles said, ''It's music, and I like it". Now available in glorious mono.

Side A

1. Concierto de Aranjuez (Adagio)
2. Will O' The Wisp

Side B

1. The Pan Piper
2. Saeta
3. Solea