Miles Davis & Gil Evans team up for three big band releases. In mono!

Read More
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Remastered Audio
  • Mono edition
Catalog # : MOVLP691 Format : 1 LP, 180 gram Releasedate : February 04 2013
Barcode : 8718469532087 Sleeve : 3mm Original Release : 1957 

Miles Ahead (1957) marks the start of Miles' collaboration with Gil Evans, orchestra arranger and conductor whose combined forces also yielded Sketches Of Spain [MOVLP692] and Porgy & Bess [MOVLP690].

In a time where Big Bands were no longer fashionable, the duo forged their own path anyway and put a 19-piece band behind Davis. The ballads "Miles Ahead'' and "Blues for Pablo" showcase Miles's sensitive side, which shines through fully on these songs in particular.

Side A

1. Springsville
2. The Maids Of Cadiz
3. The Duke
4. My Ship
5. Miles Ahead

Side B

1. Blues For Pablo
2. New Rhumba
3. The Meaning Of The Blues
4. Lament
5. I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)