Innercity Griots is a legendary album cherished by 90s Hip Hop fans. Freestyle Fellowship, consisting of Aceyalone, Myka 9, Self Jupiter, and P.E.A.C.E, along with producer J-Sumbi, crafted a distinct and jazz-infused sound. Their exceptional lyricism, filled with intricate wordplay, metaphors, and social commentary, sets them apart in the genre. A rewarding listen.  

Read More
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes insert
  • Featuring the singles "Bullies of the Block" and "Hot Potato"
  • #51 on the NME list of the "100 Lost Albums You Need to Know"
Catalog # : MOVLP3462 Format : 1 LP, 180 gram Releasedate : August 04 2023
Barcode : 0600753974087 Sleeve : 3mm Original Release : 1993 

Innercity Griots is an album with a legendary status among fans of hidden Hip Hop gems of the 90's.

At the heart of Innercity Griots is the unique sound and style of Freestyle Fellowship. This group of four talented MCs (Aceyalone, Myka 9, Self Jupiter, and P.E.A.C.E) and their producer, J-Sumbi, created a sound that was both experimental and deeply rooted in the traditions of hip-hop.

The sound of the group is recognizable with a unique jazz-infused style. What really sets the group apart from other jazz-influenced Hip Hop from that era is their incredible lyricism. The raps are packed with dense wordplay, complex metaphors, and social commentary. This all together makes it a rich and rewarding listen.

The album Innercity Griots includes an insert.


Side A

1. Blood
2. Bullies Of The Block
3. Everything's Everything
4. Shammy's
5. Heat Mizer
6. Six Tray
7. Danger
8. Inner City Boundaries
9. Bomb Zombies
10. Cornbread

Side B

1. Way Cool
2. Hot Potato
3. Mary
4. Park Bench People
5. Heavyweights
6. Tolerate
7. Respect Due