This singer-songwriter's 2nd album. Fans of Nick Cave & Roy Orbison should check this one out.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
Read More
Catalog # : MOVLP360Format : 1 LP, 180 gramReleasedate : 2011-07-21
Barcode : 8713748982355Sleeve : 3mmOriginal Release : 2011 

Side A

1. Vultures
2. Cry Cry Cry
3. Hotel Plaster
4. You Come To Me
5. My Baby Don't Lie

Side B

1. This Is For Love
2. You Were The Devil
3. War Is Hell
4. Heavy Boots
5. The Tower
The American singer-songwriter Nicole Atkins released her second album Mondo Amore early 2011. Her sound is known for its mix of traditional vocal styles and introspective lyrics. She has been compared to Roy Orbison and singers from the Brill Building era.

The album has its genesis in a time of extreme turbulence for Atkins, a period which saw her parting ways with her former major label, while also dealing with the painful termination of a long-term personal relationship. Additionally, her former backing band abandoned the project a week after they started recording the new album.

Atkins dealt with these changes by creating a more volatile sound than she had ever previously attempted, a sonic approach akin to such influences as Scott Walker and Nick Cave, while also touching on longtime inspirations like the blues and classic 60s psychedelic rock. Special guest on the album is My Morning Jacket's Jim James who can be heard in the song "War Is Hell".

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert