On his sixth album Leonard returns to the acoustic folk.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
Read More
Catalog # : MOVLP311Format : 1 LP, 180 gramReleasedate : 2012-05-24
Barcode : 8718469530526Sleeve : 3mmOriginal Release : 1979 

Side A

1 The Guests
A2 Humbled In Love
A3 The Window
A4 Came So Far For Beauty
A5 The Lost Canadian (Un Canadien Errant)

Side B

B1 The Traitor
B2 Our Lady Of Solitude
B3 The Gypsy's Wife
B4 The Smokey Life
B5 Ballad Of The Absent Mare

Recent Songs is the sixth studio album by Leonard Cohen, released in 1979. It was a return to Cohen's acoustic folk music after the Phil Spector experimentation of Death of a Ladies' Man, (MOVLP476) but now with many Jazz and Oriental influences.

The album includes Gypsy violin player Raffi Hakopian, and even a Mexican Mariachi band. Long-time Cohen collaborator Jennifer Warnes prominently appears in vocal tracks. Members of the band Passenger played on four of the songs and Garth Hudson of The Band also appeared on the album. "Came So Far for Beauty" seems to be an unaltered outtake from the unfinished 1975 album Songs for Rebecca, which also included early versions of "The Traitor" and "The Smokey Life" (then with music by John Lissauer).

"Ballad of the Absent Mare"'s metaphoric lyrics are based on the twelfth-century Ten Bulls (or Ten Ox-herding Pictures). The song is covered by several artists, notably Emmylou Harris on the album Cowgirl's Prayer (as "Ballad of a Runaway Horse").

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert