Booker T and the MG's - Doin' Our Thing

BOOKER T and the MG'S


Seminal Booker T album - a top notch must-have R&B classic.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
Read More
Catalog # : MOVLP905 Format : LP, 180 gram Releasedate : 2013-11-11
Barcode : 8718469533947 Sleeve : 3mm Original Release : 1968 

Side A

1. I Can Dig It
2. Expressway (To Your Heart)
3. Doin’ Our Thing
4. You Don’t Love Me
5. Never My Love
6. The Exodus Song

Side B

1. The Beat Goes On
2. Ode To Billie Joe
3. Blue On Green
4. You Keep Me Hanging On
5. Let’s Go Get Stoned

On the aptly titled Doin' Our Thing (1968), the famed Stax house band indeed play their own compositions, to be heard in the album opener "I Can Dig It", the title track and "Blue On Green".

But the boys also make a list of classic Soul and R&B covers their own. They tackle famous tracks like "Expressway To Your Heart", written by the famed producer duo Gamble & Huff and popularized by the Soul Survivors in 1967. "The Beat Goes On", originally written by Sonny Bono (who made it an evergreen with his then-wife Cher) is sprinkled with some Booker T. magic and "You Keep Me Hangin' On" by Holland, Dozier & Holland gets the ever-so-funky organ treatment.

A top notch must-have R&B classic.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl